The SUBE, a Saint-Tropezian legend

In the XIXth century The SUBE was a coach house, before remodeling as the Marquis Alban Martin de Roquebrune’s mansion. The Marquis also had the famous statue of the Bailli de Suffren erected, facing the building. Alexander Dumas witnessed the unveiling of the statue on  April 4th1876. He probably stayed at the Café de la Marine (the SUBE’s original name) to pen his magazine article for « L’Illustration ». From then on the former mansion became a hotel.

 

Another famous writer, Guy de Maupassant, described the hotel in 1876 in his book "Sur l’eau" referring to it as the"Bailli de Suffren’s hotel ".

Ownership changes once again and it is then known as "Le Continental". Eugene Sube a travelling salesman, fell in love with the proprietress. Of their union came forth the SUBE et Continental Hotel, later shortened to the SUBE.

Many writers and artists attended the SUBE: Paul Signac, fauvist painters such as Camoin, Manguin as well as authors such as Colette and Apollinaire. Orson Welles even set up an easel in order to paint a scene from La Bravade, a yearly pagent celebrating Saint-Tropez’ military and religious history.

 

A lawyer with a passion for the sea, Jean-Louis Carré acquired the hotel In 1986 and turned it into a sanctuary for all things maritime — in large part thanks to the increasing popularity of the Nioularge (Les Voiles).

 

In 2012 he sold it to Geneviève and Bruno Walther, who already owned Granier Beach.

 

Sharing a passion for the sea, they were ceaseless in preserving the venues’ traditional spirit and improving its comfort. Armchairs and leather-upholstered benches were added in the bar-salon for an enhanced English club atmosphere.

 

Bailly de Suffren' statue

Le SUBE,  un mythe à SAINT-TROPEZ

Au XIXème siècle, Le SUBE  était un relais de diligence, avant de devenir l’hôtel particulier du Marquis Alban Martin de Roquebrune qui fera ériger la célèbre statue du Bailli de Suffren, située juste en face de la batisse. Alexandre Dumas assiste à l’inauguration de la statue le 4 avril 1866. Il s’installa probablement au Café de la Marine, ancienne appellation du SUBE pour y rédiger son article destiné à la revue « L’illustration ». C’est à ce moment que le bâtiment devient un hôtel à proprement parler.

 

Autre écrivain célèbre ayant fréquenté le lieu, Guy de Maupassant. Il décrit l’hôtel dans son livre « Sur l’eau» en 1876, en le surnommant  « Hôtel du Bailli de Suffren ».

Puis, l’hôtel change encore de propriétaire et devient « Le Continental ». Eugène Sube, commis voyageur tombe amoureux de sa propriétaire et de leur union naquit l’hôtel SUBE & Continental, puis enfin, le SUBE.

De nombreux écrivains et artistes fréquentent le SUBE : Paul Signac, les fauvistes Camoin, Manguin ou encore les écrivains Colette et Apollinaire. Orson Welles y installa même son chevalet  pour y peindre une scène de la Bravade qui célèbre chaque année l’histoire militaire et religieuse de Saint-Tropez.

 

En 1986, Jean-Louis Carré, avocat passionné par la mer, achète l’hôtel et le transforme en véritable sanctuaire marin grâce à la montée en puissance de la Nioulargue (les Voiles).

 

Il le vendra en 2012, à Geneviève et Bruno Walther qui possédaient la Plage des Graniers.

 

Passionnés par la mer, ils  n’auront de cesse que de maintenir l’esprit traditionnel de l’établissement et d’accroître le confort  des lieux. Le bar-salon sera affublé de plus de fauteuils et banquettes cuir pour appuyer l’esprit Club.

 

Statue du Bailly de Suffren